Indiana Sheep Association Symposium

O.V. Winks Building
Hamilton County Fairgrounds
2003 Pleasant Street
Noblesville, IN
Brochure/Registration Info [ CLICK HERE ]

Saturday, September 23, 2017

10:00 to 10:45
“Healthy Flock/Wealthy Flock”  Speaker Justin Kieffer, DVM Clinical Veterinarian, Department of Animal Sciences at The Ohio State University.
“Legal Matters”   Speaker David Day, with the law firm of Church, Church, Hittle and Antrium
Experiences from the 2017 Howard Wyman Sheep Leadership School   Speaker Wendy Feller of Crawfordsville, IN
Lunch/ISA Annual meeting/Election of Officers and Directors/Awards Presentation
“Does Artificial Insemination fit my Operation?”  Speaker Dr. Kieffer
"Report from the Indiana Sheep & Wool Market Development Council” Speaker Ken McMichael, Chairman of the Council
"If you Snooze – you Lose”   Speaker Dr. Emily Buck, Associate Professor, Ag Communications at the Ohio State University
Door Prizes and Scholarship drawing

Pre-Registration is $25 per person, which includes lunch, breaks and 2 raffle tickets for  drawing for a scholarship to the 2018 Wyman Sheep Leadership School. Must be present to win!

Pre-Registrations are due September 15.

On-site registrations will be $30 per person

They're Back!

The Master Shepherd and Shepherd of the Year awards are back and will be awarded at the Hoosier Sheep Symposium on Saturday, September 23 during the noon luncheon.

Outstanding service to the sheep industry and community are qualities the Indiana Sheep Association is looking to recognize. ISA is seeking nominations for the Master Shepherd and Shepherd of the Year awards. These awards recognize individuals who have established a positive impact on the Indiana sheep industry, assisting youth and providing services to their local community.

The MASTER SHEPHERD AWARD the nominee must:

  1. Be a resident of Indiana and a member of ISA.
  2. Have been involved in the sheep industry at least 25 years
  3. Presently own or have owned sheep
  4. Have demonstrated a commitment to the sheep industry
  5. Have given service to youth and local community
  6. Have been involved in other agriculture related activities.

The SHEPHERD OF THE YEAR AWARD that nominee must:

  1. Be a resident of Indiana and a member of ISA
  2. Presently own sheep
  3. Have involvement in local and state associations and agriculture related activities
  4. Have developed an innovative idea or service to the sheep industry this past year.

Nominations are now being accepted and will be accepted until September 1, 2017. Your nominations for these awards must be accompanied by a one page typed written support of your nominee. Selection will be made by the ISA Executive Committee.

Nominations along with support materials should be sent to Bob Benson, 3506 Heathcliff Ct., Westfield, IN 46074 or e-mail to

ISA Board of Directors Meeting MInutes

The Board of Directors of the Indiana Sheep Association (ISA) met at the Hamilton County Extension Office in the evening of July 5, 2017. The following directors and officers were present: David Trotter, Bob Benson, Bernie Cripe, David Smith, John Dyer and Danny Rogers. Also in attendance were MaryAnn Cripe, Dr. Stan Poe and Gerald Kelly.

A report was given by the recently appointed Strategic Planning Task Force. The group reported on current membership in ISA and potential members based on the state’s sheep premiss identification list; the fact that there is no current contract with the corresponding secretary; a recent meeting with the Head of the Animal Science Department at Purdue University and his desire for suggested names of sheep folks to serve on the Purdue Animal Science Advisory Committee; the need to strengthen communications with members; and the need to have a presence at the Indiana State Fair with a manned display.

The 2017 Indiana State Fair was discussed in detail. Some of the activities at the state fair that have ISA ties are:
*Wool and Ewe Shop – only one location again in 2017; Jackie Denhart will again manage
*Shearing Contest – will be August 14 at 4:00 pm in the Blue Ribbon Pavilion; Matt Kennedy, Coordinator
*Make It With Wool Contest – coordinator is Robyn Heine (
*Sheep to Shawl Contest – in the Indiana Arts Building on Sunday, August 20; Sue Payne of Connor Prairie is the coordinator
*Farm Bureau Taste of Indiana – in the Farm Bureau Building; August 15 – 17; funding for lamb has been secured through the Market Development Council
*Association Display – David Trotter to try to secure space in the Blue Ribbon Pavillion; display to focus on a fall sheep symposium; there is a need for volunteers to man the display on August 4 – 6 and August 9 – 16 (please contact Bob Benson at 317-896-2213 or David Trotter at 812-987-5139 if you can help out)
*Lamb by Porky’s – Lamb will again be served at one of the Porky’s food tents. However, ISA no longer receives any money for this concession

There was detailed discussion about a fall Sheep Symposium and ISA Annual Meeting. The proposed date is September 23 with several locations under consideration. The display at the Indiana State Fair will have the final details of this event.

A nominating committee of John Dyer and Gerald Kelly was appointed.
Many thanks to all those who helped make the ISA 2016 Annual Symposium a tremendous success!

© 2015, Indiana Sheep Assocoation. All Rights Reserved.
site by EDJE